A year Later..

A year later and it has become a reality. We’re done. Miguel and I are no longer. He’s dating someone new, Dayanara and they’ve been together for about 9 months now and I hate to admit it but he looks happy. I haven’t been able to see him. I’m not ready. Just in pictures on facebook. Damm social media! I remember when I made him smile the same way she does now. It feels like yesterday. What’s worse is I don’t hate her. I can’t speak bad about her. Not only because I don’t know her but because I look at her and I feel like if we met I would probably like her! How’s that for irony! 

I also started dating, a wise person once told me the only way to get over someone is to get under someone new. So I made it my personal mission to try out this intriguing theory. First, there was Hector. That lasted for about 3 months, I thought he was adorable but apparently I wasn’t the only one because he was also dating someone else who thought he was adorable so I threw that dirty rat to the curb with the rest of the trash. NEXT! Now that I think about it, I don’t even know why we lasted 3 months. He could barely last 3 minutes in bed! What was I thinking? 

Next there was Jesus! No, not Jesus. For all of my non-Spanish readers, its GESUS but spelled Jesus. How awkward is it to scream out Jesus, Jesus, over and over again during sex?!?! His next door neighbor probably thinks his girlfriend is super religious! What’s funny about him (besides the name) is that I first met him when I was in first grade and he was in 5th grade. I had a crush on him since then. I guess I always liked older men! As soon as I saw his smile at the bar that night, I remembered who he was. It was so weird to see him again after so many years, and even weirder? His cousin is my friend! So when I ran into her at the bar and she asked me to take a shot with her and her cousin and introduced him to me, it was hard to keep a straight face. A few shots later, his cousin was busy tearing up the dance floor and he and I were in our own little word catching up after all those years. By the time the lights in the bar came on, which was our clue to go we exchanged phone numbers and my elementary school crush kissed me. Those same butterflies that I used to get when I saw him roaming the hallways at school were back. Just as I was leaving Miguel text me asking where I was. I probably shouldn’t have text back but I was on such a happy cloud, I did. Miguel and his cousin ended up coming over. It was innocent. We watched movies, kept drinking and when he came to my room to go to sleep, we actually got in bed and for the first time in a long time, went to sleep. I woke up from my coma state of mind from the sound of my evil phone letting me know I had received a text message. It was him! It was Jesus, making sure I had gotten home ok and asking if I had plans for later that day. He wanted to see me. The rest of the day I stayed in bed with Miguel watching movies and keeping our hands to ourselves and texting Jesus the whole time. So when Miguel asked me that night why I looked so good to take him home, I told him the truth. I had a date. It felt so good telling him that. When I dropped him off he kissed me very lightly. Just a peck. He told me to have fun and be safe but to not give up the goodies. I took off to meet my elementary school crush. 

At dinner, we laughed and reminisced about our childhood days and talked about the teacher that would fall asleep reading to us and the games of killer kisser in the backyard. It was so much fun, so easy. After dinner when we went back to his house and he opened a bottle of wine, I knew I liked him. So I didn’t sleep with him. Not that night. We kissed and got really touchy feely but we passed out on his couch. Me in his arms and his head between my chest and my face so I could feel him breathing on me ever so lightly and it was incredibly nice. When I went home that morning, I probably looked a mess. Heels in hand, hair up in a ponytail but feeling like I was the most beautiful girl. I was giddy. He made me feel good. 

 

Leave a Reply

